Joining a QAL, commitment issues

I am joining my first QAL!

This is in contrast to my usual decision to make a quilt long after the QAL is done and dusted. While my usual method has its merits (i.e. learning from other’s mistakes), it does rule me out of fun activities like posting my progress, and winning quilty prizes for my efforts.FW1930sQAL 2

The QAL I am joining is The Farmers Wife 1930’s Sampler Quilt by Laurie Aaron Hird, starting September 2015, and organised by Kerry of verykerryberry.

I have the Farmers Wife 1920’s book, but have never gotten to making the quilt. By committing to a QAL, I am hoping to make more progress on the 1930’s version.The Farmer's Wife 1930s Sampler Quilt - jacket art

The QAL will start in September with introductory posts about fabric choice, colours etc, with the block posts for Blocks one and two starting on September 14th. Kerry will post updates every Monday for around a year until the Quilt is complete, with a series of guest bloggers posting about a second block each week.

In preparation, I have assembled all my reproduction fabrics. There are lots of pretty little florals in bright pastels, some of which have matching solids. Most of them have come from Moreland Fabrics, since Depression era fabrics aren’t a popular theme in the other LQS’s. Unfortunately I think I have sufficient fabric, so no fabric shopping is required. Sigh.

So, I am committed. Lets see if public accountability helps with WIP progress.

Linking up with WIP Wednesday.

4 thoughts on “Joining a QAL, commitment issues

  1. Hi, I’ve just found your blog via WIP Wednesday, yours was the post next to mine. What a surprise to find that you’re a Kiwi too! I live in Hamilton, another town that Kiwis love to make fun of! I’m joining in on the QAL too 🙂

    Like

    1. I have some fond memories of The Tron. I attended and worked at the Uni, have spent about a decade there in all. I still miss the Chartwell Library of all places. And my Dinsdale hairdresser, I haven’t had a decent haircut since we left 7 1/2 years ago to come to Palmy. We still visit for parents, siblings etc, but have grown very used to the slower pace here. Thanks for visiting, and enjoy your upcoming Quilt Show at Claudelands.

      Like

Leave a Reply

