Christmas quilt finishes

For the first time ever, I am giving home-made quilty presents this year for Christmas. It’s a bit nerve-wracking, and I am fighting the urge to run out and buy things to supplement the gifts I have made. Nevertheless, the gifts will be given and I will hope the glaring (to me) mistakes pass by unnoticed.

We took the quilts to the local rose garden this morning, taking advantage of a break in the somewhat changeable weather.

P1070756
The “Twilight in the garden” quilt for Catherine.
P1070758
We had trouble with our arms being too short to extend the quilt fully for the photos. Note to self: take The Hubbie along next time for added arm length.

First out of the gate is a quilt for a friend, Catherine. Since she has never owned a quilt, and we have gotten to know each other so well over the last year or so, it seemed a good idea to make something just for her. Purple is her favourite colour, so I decided to finish a quilt that started life as a Midnight at the Oasis quilt, but got side-tracked from the first block  into a medallion quilt.

I had fun designing each round, using the purple batik strips to build the quilt to the size needed for the next round. It was my first quilt using quilt math, orange peel and flying geese blocks. Overall, it’s very “spotty”, which is why it was rejected by Daughter #1 as a quilt.

We had fun trying to photograph the quilt, as my daughter’s arms weren’t quite long enough, resulting in an attack of the giggles.P1070754

The rotunda is a frequent place for picnics and weddings in the garden, but today we had the gardens almost to ourselves. We have been thinking of having Christmas lunch here, since there are even free BBQ’s close by, though highly sought after. The number coming to lunch has just increased by another two though, so it might be easier to just stay at home. I might still use disposable plates though, and force everyone to eat outside on a picnic blanket.P1070762

The next Christmas finish is a cheater quilt for my Mum. I wanted a quick quilt for her to use while curled up in her new Laz-i-boy chair we bought last month. Nana naps are now a daily occurrence for her, and this will come in quite handy.

P1070750
Mum’s “Nana nap” quilt

The quilt back is a favourite fabric of mine, and it’s with difficulty that I parted with it. I know the idea with fabric is to use it, but it is awfully hard to part with some fabrics.

P1070751
The back of the Nana Nap quilt.

I might just have to collect (curate) a little more of this fabric, perhaps in the other two colour-ways.

Back to the grind again. I have figs and ginger to  chop for a Christmas pudding, and a quilt guild meeting to get ready for. I have volunteered for the local committee, and tonight is my first meeting, the Christmas Party. Great timing huh!

Linking up eventually with TGIFF, Finish it up Friday, and Crazy mom Quilts.

8 thoughts on “Christmas quilt finishes

  1. Goodness me – there is nothing to worry about. I love your purple quilt, as your friend will. And what Mum wouldn’t love a quilt made for them with love especially by her daughter? Great photos.
    Have a great Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

