My Small World flimsy finished

In keeping with my determination to make quilting fun again, I have been sticking to my Jen Kingwell quilts this last week.

First, I took advantage of a Spotlight sale to put aside a big bale of batting, and I hope to be able to hand quilt Gypsy Wife #2 soon. Looking forward to this immensely.gw2016buttonSM

Next up was Gypsy Wife #3. The QAL starts next month, but since that is only a few days away, I allowed myself some “play” time, and made a few blocks. I wanted to justify picking up some fabric from my LQS, small samples from the fabric reps that are just right for inserting into a scrap quilt. This version is going to be more muted, and with a lot of floral fabrics. Sort of Gypsy Wife meets Spring flower garden.

P1070894

But the big finish has been finally sewing together the sections for the My Small World quilt.P1070900

I had been waiting for an appliqué lesson before tackling the last part of the quilt, but life kept getting in the way. So, I machine sewed on the two suns and called it quits.

“All” that is left now is the embroidery.

In case you have noticed that my quilt differs a little from the pattern, as noted in an earlier post, I tried to finish the quilt on a week long break last year. Having forgotten some notions, and trying to complete a section per day, led to some changes. Plus I gave myself permission to substitute if I didn’t like a block. That happened quite a lot! If you are interested in checking out some other versions, or making the quilt yourself, this link to the 2015 QAL will guide you to everything you need to know.MSWqal300

This quilt is on my 2016 FAL list, so I shall keep blowing ahead. Now, how to quilt it?

Linking up with Lets Bee Social, WIP Wednesday, and Crazy Mom Quilts.

5 thoughts on “My Small World flimsy finished

Leave a Reply

