Finding my sewing mojo

I lost my sewing mojo for a fair while this year. Productivity was near zilch, my enthusiasm waned, and I just read blogs, and entered competitions. Not much luck there either! Not that I need any more fabric. Except Kona solids, I always need more Kona solids.

P1080144

So, last week I threw myself into an activity I find fires up the creative juices. Making 12 1/2 inch wonky log cabin blocks.

P1080142

I find it a Zen-like process. Very deliberate, and time consuming. It usually takes me over an hour to complete a single block, and I deliberately avoid techniques like chain piecing, which are designed to speed up the process.

I limit myself to a single block a day, carefully choosing each strip of fabric, remembering where it came from. Once finished, I mentally pat myself on the back, then move on with the day.

This time I had a finished quilt in mind, having mentioned in passing to someone I could deliver them a quilt in the near future.

P1080140

The quilt will hopefully be thrown over a table at Club Day at Massey University tomorrow, then used to keep kids warm at meetings. I say “hopefully” only because the rain has started, thunderstorms are forecast, and I need Daughter #2 to deliver it tonight. If the weather is too atrocious, it might have to wait a week.

As it is, I will be running outside to the drier in between showers to get it ready in time. I threw two colour catchers in the wash with this one! Hopefully it will be a bit more crinkly in texture after a wash and dry.

I did just a bit of ditch stitching, and a simple “U” was quilted into each block, the club’s name starting with “U”. The batting was a scrap leftover from another project, and the backing a couple of pieces of orange floral fabric from my stash. It’s a Blue Hill fabric I love, and bought many, many meters of.

And just a quick shot showing the value changes, which help make the blocks pop.

P1080141

Next it is back to a baby quilt, which I am psyching myself up to appliqué the baby’s name on. A first for me.

This is Finish #2 for the third quarter of the 2016 FAL.

2016 button 250 best

Linking up eventually with Sew Fresh and Crazy Mom Quilts.

11 thoughts on “Finding my sewing mojo

  1. I’m happy you’re finding your sewing mojo again….slow and steady, right? I love that you were so deliberate with the making of each block. So much of the time it seems we are always in a race to finish our projects. Taking the time to reflect on fabric choices and purposefully limiting the blocks you make at one time is a great way to put more of yourself in each quilt you make. Thanks for sharing that!

    Like

  2. THanks for visiting. I am going to try and remember tomorrow to join your linky party in future. My computer is charging, and its dinner making time, otherwise I would do it now. Looking forward to linking up next week.

    Like

  3. The old saying “It’s not the destination, it’s the journey” is so true. I make hand applique quilts that are hand quilted and sometimes people treat me like I need evaluating! When they are particularly rude I say “If I wanted a quilt in a day I would buy a duvet”

    Enjoy the process and savour the anticipated delight of the recipients. I gave a hand knitted singlet to the expectant mum daughter of a workmate of mine. She was so surprised and couldn’t understand that someone she had never met would give her a present.

    I was also surprised when sharing my weekend activities with a colleague. I told her I had given a facial treatment voucher as a 50th birthday present. She said “Do people give presents anymore?”.

    Oh dear, age?

    Like

  4. Well done for keeping hand quilting methods alive. I have been trying to find someone locally to teach me applique, but only the machine method is taught by local tutors. So, I have joined the embroiderers guild, average age about 80 years old. Hopefully I can gain the skills I want from my Grandmothers generation. Thanks for visiting.

    Like

  5. I wish I was closer, it makes my heart sing to find someone who wants to learn applique. I’m not quite your Grandmother’s generation – and I like to think I am young at heart! Perhaps when you next go to Taupo?

    Like

  6. Some time in Spring…my timetable is a visit by Michelle Hill we have planned for out Tote and Gloat in 2018. I need to learn sufficient of the basics to benefit from a class from her. I have a collection of hers and Barbara Brackmans William Morris fabrics I need to use.

    Like

  7. Shall I make you really jealous? I did a class with Michele in 2012. She said at the end “If any of you come to Adelaide let me know and I will meet you”. I chose a holiday in Adelaide especially to meet her, and she spent a whole day with hubs and me. She is not only genuinely lovely, she is real, and great fun. Ended up taking us here and there and to one of the most exclusive private hotels in the Adelaide Hills – they commissioned her to make a quilt for them. We had the grand tour of Thorngrove Manor – $695.00 for afternoon tea! I still keep in touch and hope she and Larry might visit one day.

    Like

  8. There is certainly a queue forming here for hosting rights. Unfortunately I have no spare bedroom. Plus it would mean takng time off sewing to tidy up the gardens and such. We open our classes up to non-guild members, just in case you get tempted by what she offers. Our Rose City Quilters blog will have details closer to the time.

    Like

  9. Great work on the wonky log cabins; a nice way to use up scraps (and revive memories of previous projects as you sew too!) Good luck with the applique, always good to try something new.

    Like

  10. It is unfortunate that sewing mojo sometimes goes into hiding and has to be coaxed back. Your wonky log cabins seem to be a great technique for getting it back, and the end product is cheerful and fun. I may have to try it next time mine disappears!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love log cabins, and this one has such fun colours. A great project to revive your creative focus. Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

