Waiting

I have applied for a job. And now I am waiting.

P1080173
I basted the pansy quilt, while watching the Olympics Final ceremony. An efficient multi-tasker, did I mention that in my application?

It’s not like this is something I haven’t done before, but this time it feels different. Not different because I know, deep in my knower, that I will get an interview, or the job itself. But different, in that I feel like a transition has occurred. I made the decision to apply while riding the train to Wellington a couple of weeks ago.

I am applying because I want to work, and despite the fact that it might be easier for my family if I didn’t.

P1080182
A field of pansies, set in green. The blocks were all leftovers from the first quilt I ever started. The original quilt is about Queen sized. Somewhere along the way I leant about Quilt math.

I didn’t originally set out to be a stay-at-home caregiver and parent. In fact, once the reality of parenting an ASD kid set in, I would gladly have gone back to work.

And while homeschooling two sick teenagers through NCEA, I longed desperately every morning for a coffee break, some smalltalk over the water cooler, fewer dramas, and a regular salary.

P1080180
This one is a keeper! Big enough for a generous lap quilt, each pansy block being 6 inches finished. Can you see the oops?

But things just didn’t work out that way, and now I am feeling restless.

As a family, it feels like we have the hardest years behind us. Please let it be so!

In addition, I have a PhD and I would really, really like to use it! So, I have sent in the first application, and rescued the automated reply from my spam folder.

P1080196
Spring is on the way.

Now, all I need is for a whole truckload of Science jobs to become vacant in my neck of the woods.

While I wait, there is always more quilting to be done….

P1080199
I’m watching my Magnolias every day, waiting for the first peek at their flowers. I could weed around them, but we are babysitting a beehive at the moment, and the bees get a bit agitated when we spend too much time near the hive.

…and time spent quilting is never wasted.

2016 button 250 best

The Pansy Quilt, (or, Damn, how did I miss that? quilt), is another finish from my  third quarter list in the 2016 FAL.

Also linking up with Sew Fresh Quilts.

 

7 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Good luck, I could never have homeschooled my children. I was a stay at home mum for 11 years, and have been working part time for the past 2.5 years. That’s enough for me. Change is hard, but good at the same time.

    Like

  2. I always said I would never homeschool, and it certainly wasn’t by choice. I have learnt never to say never! Part-time work would be my preference too, that way I could keep on top of all the domestic stuff. Mind you, hiring a housekeeper sounds pretty good too. Have a great week.

    Like

  3. I know exactly how you feel about being out in the workforce. The extra money is great, but the real joy for me is the company of a group of people who are diverse and inspiring. I have a core group of work friends whom I miss if I don’t see them. I also feel satisfied that I am a valued contributing employee. I am long past the normal retirement age but am not ready to be at home yet. Hubby is happy for me as he is always busy with his hobbies and doing little jobs for people. All the best for your application. If it is meant to be it will be yours, if not then He has a better plan for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

