A Scrappy Message Quilt

Daughter #2 has a friend recovering from a major operation, and this seemed like the ideal opportunity to pass on some love, in the form of a signed lap quilt.

Todays photo shoot comes care of next years woodpile. Makes a change from the clothes line.
Todays photo shoot comes care of next years woodpile. Its never too early to start collecting free Eucalyptus logs to burn, thanks to an arborist sister. ( See here for her world record foot lock climb).

The quilt top had been gathering dust for a week or two, while I tried to figure out how to increase the size of the top, and what to do with it afterwards. It had been pieced as a challenge quilt, from scraps purchased from Grandmothers Garden in the Waikato.

While I love the fabrics, any quilt with lots of pale colours is doomed in our household, due to owning a La Perm cat with an often dirty coat. La Perm’s have a genetic quirk, which results in a very curly coat. Charlie thinks he’s a dog, and insists on rolling in compost, sand, dust, and anything else smelly he can find. He’s been coming home smelling so bad lately, we suspect he has been joining the neighbours chickens for company during the day. Needless to say, unless freshly bathed, he and white or neutral based quilts do not mix.

A slight diversion to the Plum tree at the back of the section....spring is nigh! The Plum blossom should be out in the next couple of weeks.
A slight diversion to the Plum tree at the back of the section….spring is nigh! The Plum blossom is out, as are the first Daffodils and most of the local lambs.

I extended the quilt top with a chocolate brown border of homespun, then pieced a back from the homespun and some Kaufman fabric I picked up for the princely sum of $1 at a craft show. I used a layer of flannelette as the batting, since I want the quilt nice and flat for writing on.

The quilt back is Digital print D# 13617 from Robert Kaufman, with a median stripe of the homespun to extend it to fit. My first Daffodils!
The quilt back is labelled Digital print D# 13617 from Robert Kaufman, with a median stripe of the homespun to extend it to fit. My first Daffodils! Note these are now face-down in the mud after our recent winds.

Why not get the friends to write on it before I quilted it you ask? I considered that, then realised that passing around a quilt flimsy between a couple of dozen youth, would probably result in a very distorted and stretched flimsy being returned to me.

So, I bound it in more homespun, and now its ready to go on its way. After it has been covered in messages, I will run a few more lines of quilting across, then put it in the post.

Cushion and the quilt back, which I prefer to the front.
Another new cushion and the quilt back, which I prefer to the front.

In the time I had left, I quickly ran up another cushion from a block acquired at the Arts Recycling Centre. All it required was a border, some quilting, then a backing. I used an envelope style backing this time, as it’s much easier to take out the pillow form and wash the cover I find (note cat comment above).

On another note, I attended a free-motion quilting class with Dianne last week. So, 7 months after receiving it, I have finally taken my free-motion foot out of the packaging, and had a go. I am all good with “squiggles” or “loops”, anything else is definitely a work in progress. I am considering whether to purchase a silicon sheet for my machine to make FMQ easier, since I found it quite hard to move the fabric around. I have a history of neck and shoulder injuries, so tend to stiffen up quite fast. Any opinions on this one? Is it just a matter of more practising required?

Linking up eventually with Scraptastic Tuesday, WIP Wednesday and Lets Bee Social.

5 thoughts on “A Scrappy Message Quilt

  1. Was theRe a reason you didn’t use the mat? I shall try gloves. Machingers are very expensive down under, so gardening gloves with rubber bottoms to the fingers have been suggested by an elderly friend who struggles with FMQ.

    Like

  2. Great quilt and a wonderful idea to get it signed.
    Don’t sit at your machine for too long. 20 minutes maximum and then get up, have a stretch and a walk around for 5-10 mins before going back to it. Try and set up tables/chairs around you to take the weight of the quilt rather than you trying to hold it up as that’ll help. Other than that it’s just practise to build up your quilty muscles

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cute quilt – I’m sure it will be appreciated. You have had good advice above – I’d say little and often is the best way to improve. Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    Like

Leave a Reply

